BookMonster
in Santa Monica

Product Info

Topics of Conversation (Hardcover)

| Knopf Publishing Group | 1/7/2020

ISBN-10 : 0525656286   ISBN-13 : 9780525656289   List Price : $24.00

$12.00 (Very Good) ~ $13.92 (Very Good)
  • A05 (5th Shelf Top-to-bottom)
  • C13 (3rd Shelf Top-to-bottom)

Overview

For readers of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill--a compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self-loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction

Miranda Popkey's first novel is about desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, guilt--written in language that sizzles with intelligence and eroticism. The novel is composed almost exclusively of conversations between women--the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self-sabotage--and careens through twenty years in the life of an unnamed narrator hungry for experience and bent on upending her life. Edgy, wry, shot through with rage and despair, Topics of Conversation introduces an audacious and immensely gifted new novelist.

Product Details

  • ISBN-10: 0525656286
  • ISBN-13: 9780525656289
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 224
View Mobile Website