BookMonster
in Santa Monica

Product Info

The Altruists (Hardcover)

| Viking Pr | 3/5/2019

ISBN-10 : 0525522719   ISBN-13 : 9780525522713   List Price : $26.00

$14.99 (Very Good)
  • A05 (6th Shelf Top-to-bottom)

Overview

A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father's plot to win back his children's inheritanceArthur Alter is in trouble. A middling professor at a Midwestern college, he can't afford his mortgage, he's exasperated his much-younger girlfriend, and his kids won't speak to him. And then there's the money--the small fortune his late wife Francine kept secret, which she bequeathed directly to his children.Those children are Ethan, an anxious recluse living off his mother's money on a choice plot of Brooklyn real estate; and Maggie, a would-be do-gooder trying to fashion herself a noble life of self-imposed poverty. On the verge of losing the family home, Arthur invites his children back to St. Louis under the guise of a reconciliation. But in doing so, he unwittingly unleashes a Pandora's Box of age-old resentments and long-buried memories--memories that orbit Francine, the matriarch whose life may hold the key to keeping them together.Spanning New York, Paris, Boston, St. Louis, and a small desert outpost in Zimbabwe, The Altruists is a darkly funny (and ultimately tender) family saga in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jeffrey Eugenides, with shades of Philip Roth and Zadie Smith. It's a novel about money, privilege, politics, campus culture, dating, talk therapy, rural sanitation, infidelity, kink, the American beer industry, and what it means to be a "good person."

Product Details

  • ISBN-10: 0525522719
  • ISBN-13: 9780525522713
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 304
  • Dimensions: 9.02 (w) x 5.98 (h) x 0.75 (d)
View Mobile Website