BookMonster
in Santa Monica

Product Info

In Miniature: How Small Things Illuminate the World (Hardcover)

| Atria Books | 3/12/2019

ISBN-10 : 1501199587   ISBN-13 : 9781501199585   List Price : $25.00

$20.00 (Like New)
  • F42 (4th Shelf Top-to-bottom)

Overview

For fans of Mary Roach and Mark Kurlansky, a delightfully entertaining and illuminating investigation into our peculiar fascination with making things small, and what small things tell us about the larger world. Tiny Eiffel Towers. Platoons of brave toy soldiers. A doll’s house designed for a Queen. Eerie tableaux in which horrific crimes are depicted. Model villages and railways. These are just a few of the objects you can discover in the fascinating book In Miniature. Bringing together history, psychology, art, and obsession, Simon Garfield explores what fuels the strong appeal of miniature objects among collectors, modelers, and fans. The toys we enjoy as children invest us with a rare power at a young age, conferring the efficacy of adults. For some, the desire to play with small things becomes a desire to make small things. We live in a vast and uncertain world, and controlling just a tiny scaled-down part of it restores our sense of order and worth. As it examines flea circuses, miniscule foods, ancient tombs, and the Vegas Strip, In Miniature will change the way you look at the world and encourage all of us to find greatness in the smallest of things.

Product Details

  • ISBN-10: 1501199587
  • ISBN-13: 9781501199585
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 256
  • Dimensions: 7.05 (w) x 5.31 (h) x 0.00 (d)
View Mobile Website