BookMonster
in Santa Monica

Product Info

Emergency Contact (Hardcover)

| Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers | 3/27/2018

ISBN-10 : 1534408967   ISBN-13 : 9781534408968   List Price : $17.99

$9.00 (Like New)
  • A01 (7th Shelf Top-to-bottom)

Overview

From debut author Mark H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory?perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee, high school was a nonevent. She got decent grades, had a few friends, and even a boyfriend by senior year but basically she was invisible. Having just graduated from high school, she’s heading off to college in Austin, Texas, and she’s ready for it.

Sam has had a rougher time over the last few years. He grew up in a trailer park and had to bail when he caught his addict mom taking out credit cards in his name to buy more crap from the Home Shopping Network. He gets a job at a cafe whose owner is kind enough to let him crash on a mattress in a spare room upstairs. He wants to go to film school and become a great director but at the moment he has $17 in his checking account and his laptop is dying.

When Penny and Sam cross paths it’s not exactly a Hollywood meet cute: they’re both too socially awkward for that. But they exchange numbers and stay in touch?almost entirely by text message, a form that allows them to get to know each other while being witty and snarky and intimate without the uncomfortable weirdness of, you know, actually having to see each other in person.

Product Details

  • ISBN-10: 1534408967
  • ISBN-13: 9781534408968
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 240
View Mobile Website