Product Info

mail facebook twitter Pinterest

Sorry.
Not Accepted at This Time.

Girl at War (Paperback)

| Random House Inc | 3/22/2016

ISBN-10 : 0812986393   ISBN-13 : 9780812986396   List Price : $17.00

$2.99 flat-rate shipping & free shipping on orders $25 and over.

중고도서 가격표
Used Quality Grades Lowest Price Buy
Like New (0)-
Very Good (0)-
Good (0)-
Acceptable (0)-

Overview

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age?and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. Zagreb, 1991. Ana Juric is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world. New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war?secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before. Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Novic fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl?and its legacy on all of us. It’s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today. Praise for Girl at War “Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.”?The New York Times Book Review(Editor’s Choice) “If we looked for and celebrated a ‘book of the summer’ as we do that one song every year (what will it be this year?!), this novel would surely be this summer’s star.”?Vanity Fair “A shattering debut . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature’s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.”?USA Today“Intimate and immense . . . [Novic is] a writer whose own gravity and talent anchor this novel.”?The New York Times“[A] gripping debut novel . . . Novic, in tender and eloquent prose, explores the challenge of how to live even after one has survived.”?O: The Oprah Magazine“Powerful and vividly wrought . . . Novic writes about horrors with an elegant understatement. In cool, accomplished sentences, we are met with the gravity, brutality and even the mundaneness of war and loss as well as the enduring capacity to live.”?San Francisco Chronicle“One of this year’s most discussed debuts . . . What makes [Girl at War] unique is that it’s not concerned with unmasking the horrors of war, as many have repeatedly done. Instead, this book is an exploration of how humans grow, prosper and move on from unthinkable times.”?Paste“An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual . . . a remarkable debut by a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind.”?Gary Shteyngart, author ofSuper Sad True Love StoryFrom the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

  • ISBN-10: 0812986393
  • ISBN-13: 9780812986396
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 352
  • Dimensions: 5.20 (w) x 7.99 (h) x 0.00 (d)